- Your Music Directory


<< Back

  Home > Reviews > S

 Frank Sinatra - The Christmas Collection

Frank Sinatra - The Christmas Collection The chairman of the board, old blue eyes, the entertainer of the century-those are a few of the things people think of when Mr. Frank Sinatra comes up in a conversation.

What better way to celebrate the Holidays this year than listening to Sinatra sing age old classics backed by some of the best jazz and big band music ever recorded? His family and friends help him out, namely Bing Crosby, on the 18 tracks offered on this treasure trove of holiday cheer and timeless classics.

The liner notes that accompany this CD are warm and touching, a nice tribute to probably the greatest vocalist to ever record in modern history. Whenever you hear seasonal music, it is hard not to feel all warm and toasty inside, but when you hear Sinatra, it is an entirely different experience. It is more than just music, its Frank, the man who sang every song with all his heart and soul. With the exception of the shaky previously unreleased “Silent Night,” Sinatra was in fine form. There is reason why he sounds different on this particular recording. He was not feeling well at the time, you can hear the pain, and suffering in his voice, yet he pulls it off with style and grace like no else possibly could. He was singing for a children’s charity so he pulled himself up by his bootstraps and gave it his best shot. Now for the first time we all have a chance to experience that tender moment with Frank. It all has a little more meaning because of the season and the reason behind the recording.

Chances are if you have warm red, blood pumping through your heart you the songs on this CD will move you in some way. This further solidifies that fact that there will never be another Frank Sinatra. Then again, I am not telling you anything you did not already know. This is great music and it always will be, if it is playing during the holidays or in the middle of summer. There is a reason they called him the chairman of the board you know. His legend and artistry are unparalleled. Have a taste of holiday spirit this year courtesy of the Sinatra family, it will be the best gift you could give yourself and your loved ones. Buy it because you love music and believe in the reasons why it was recorded in the first place.

01. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm (2:53)
02. Christmas Waltz (3:13)
03. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town (#) (1:42)
04. Little Drummer Boy (3:05)
05. We Wish You the Merriest (2:18)
06. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (3:58)
07. Go Tell It on the Mountain (3:28)
08. Christmas Song (#) (1:41)
09. I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day (2:39)
10. I Wouldn't Trade Christmas (2:54)
11. Christmas Memories (2:10)
12. Twelve Days of Christmas (4:32)
13. Bells of Christmas (Greensleeves) (3:41)
14. Old Fashioned Christmas (3:47)
15. Baby Just Like You (2:48)
16. Whatever Happened to Christmas (3:06)
17. White Christmas (*) (2:12)
18. Silent Night (*) (3:30)

© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Posted By: Keith Hannaleck
Genre: Jazz-Big Band-Seasonal
Record Label: Reprise

RankFlex Score

Copyright © 2000-2018, Privacy Statement,