- Your Music Directory


<< Back

  Home > Reviews > Z

 Laurel Zucker and Davis Lynn - Poetic Justice

Laurel Zucker and Davis Lynn - Poetic Justice Laurel Zucker and Davis Lynn combined to record an outstanding progressive-symphonic rock album in 1995 titled Poetic Justice. Zucker, accustomed to recording in the realm of classical music, took a right turn and never looked back, performing as if she was a prog-rock veteran like Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull. Lynn is the consummate multi-instrumentalist, serving up plenty of finely honed guitar licks, dreamy keyboards, and the right combination of programming to make all of the parts work just right. I found Laurel Zucker’s flute playing masterful as usual, she very smartly takes her classical influences and employs them effectively to mix with the rock sound created by her partner.

With the exception of some fine guests such as Prairie Prince on drums, this recording is primarily two people; I find that fact the most awe-inspiring. Once you hear all the varying sounds and feel the contoured moods of this music, you will certainly be in accord with my assessment that this is a five star CD. Your ears will most definitely reach prog-rock nirvana after the lead off track “Crystal Palace,” and after that, it just gets better. Tracks like “New Guitar” and the incredible “Shining” are powerful musical statements. Progressive rock is about fairies, witches, wood nymphs, gods and goddesses, time travel, space exploration and the boundless imagination of you, the listener-that is why this album fits so well in my collection, it has all the qualities and complexities that are the prerequisites to making those stories and images real.

Zucker and Lynn take you on a journey that you will want to experience again and again. Poetic Justice is a “Free Flight” to wonderland and without exception, some of the best prog-rock I have ever heard. This one is a gem that you need to discover today. I hope Ms. Zucker decides to do this again very soon! This CD is a classic instrumental rendering of symphonic rock that deserves a closer look by all progressive rock enthusiasts. I have to wonder how I missed this one in 1995!

1. Crystal Palace (5:32)
2. Song of the Wayfarer (7:59)
3. Solar Bare (5:10)
4. In Your Dreams (5:57)
5. New Guitar (5:50)
6. Over Time (5:11)
7. Free Flight (4:15)
8. Shining (2:39)
9. A Folk Song (3:18)

© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Posted By: Keith Hannaleck
Genre: Progressive-Symphonic Rock
Record Label: Cantilena Records

RankFlex Score

Copyright © 2000-2018, Privacy Statement,