- Your Music Directory


<< Back

  Home > Reviews > P

 Monte Procopio - Swingin’ With Style

Monte Procopio - Swingin’ With Style Look at Monte Procopio’s face on the cover of his CD Swingin’ With Style, doesn’t he look like a man that sings with passion and style? Rest assured he is. This is a splendid album of jazz standards. Procopio is a smooth stylish vocalist with the lineage of a Frank Sinatra or Johnny Mathis. Right now, I know you cannot imagine his name in lights on Broadway, but give him time, that is something that could happen sooner than you think. I believe he is that talented.

I loved the way the album kicks off with “I’ve Got You Under My Skin,” which is a great song to introduce his dynamic range and colorful style. He gets across a song with some get-up-and-go although with plenty of taste and grace, just like old blue eyes did in his heyday. All I can think of is a smoke filled New York hotspot like the Brown Derby when I hear this music; it does something to me no other music can. During the same song, I could feel elation, sadness, and a chill go up my spine. How many times have you heard “Mack the Knife” or “Just A Gigolo (I Ain’t Got Nobody)” and a smile has not come to your face? I would be willing to bet never.

Monte executes this all in great fashion because he has all the musical support he needs. You cannot be a great jazz singer without a great band behind you, and the group that plays on his CD is admirable.

This is original American classic swingin’ jazz that has no rival and that is exactly why an entire CD of standards like this will cut the mustard with any good jazz aficionado worth his or her salt. Monte Procopio’s versions of these songs made me smile from the inside out, what else could I possibly desire from a CD? Ah yes, “What A Wonderful World” it is when a talented singer can give these great tunes their due. Just remember it don’t mean a thing if it ain’t got that swing and this album has a bounty of it.

01. I’ve Got You Under My Skin (3:30)
02. All Of Me (2:51)
03. The Way You Look Tonight (3:57)
04. When I Fall In Love (4:38)
05. Just A Gigolo (I Ain’t Got Nobody) (3:55)
06. Summer Wind (2:27)
07. Come Fly With Me (3:45)
08. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road) (4:24)
09. Mack the Knife (3:16)
10. Unforgettable (3:28)
11. The Lady Is A Tramp (2:39)
12. That’s Life (3:01)
13. I Left My Heart In San Francisco (4:34)
14. Theme From New York, New York (2:56)
15. What A Wonderful World (3:33)

© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Posted By: Keith Hannaleck
Genre: Jazz Vocals
Record Label: Independent

RankFlex Score

Copyright © 2000-2018, Privacy Statement,