- Your Music Directory


<< Back

  Home > Reviews > L

 Little Feat - Highwire Act Live In St. Louis 2003

Little Feat - Highwire Act Live In St. Louis 2003 High Wire Act Live in St. Louis 2003 is Little Feat's first video in over 20 years. This DVD offers footage from The Pageant in St. Louis performance in August of 2003. It is a fine representation of the band’s recorded legacy.

I saw Little Feat in concert at the Palace Theater in Albany, New York a few years after the release of their 1988 comeback album Let It Roll came out. At the time Down On The Farm was their last studio work. This would be the final appearance for Lowell George (the bands chief songwriter/vocalist/guitar player) in the studio before his premature death in 1979. They fell apart after that incident and reformed after a long hiatus. Since then they have been literally letting it roll, touring and recording successfully to the delight of blues-rock and jam band fans worldwide. I did notice at the concert I went to that many of the folks in the crowd are similar to those you would find at a Grateful Dead concert, but in this video, it looks like the cross section of people and age groups was much more diverse. It is obvious their fan base has changed and grown over the years, which is good for the band and music in general.

Nineteen tracks is a good helpin’ of the Little Feat catalog. Most notably are “Dixie Chicken,” which has an amazing guitar jam segment, and a few of my other favorites like “Fat Man In A Bathtub,” “Feets Don’t Fail Me Now” and “Time Loves A Hero (redo).” Based on previous listening experiences, there were only a few tracks I did not recognize, I have heard several of their albums over the years, but not all of them, although I must say that I have always enjoyed the diversity and richness of their music; they are indeed unique and exceptional musicians to be sure. Just as Paul Barrere comments in an interview, they are like an American musical gumbo. I cannot think of better way to describe their music. After watching this wonderful DVD, it made me realize more than ever how important this band is and if I have the opportunity to see them perform again, I would not hesitate.

For the fans interested in more than the concert, there is a nice photo, discography and documentary section to enjoy that helps to make your experience more complete. The band members take you through the evolution of the group from early to present day. With a DVD this good, their legacy will surly continue to grow.

1. Time Loves A Hero
2. Day Or Night
3. Cadillac Hotel
4. Spanish Moon
5. Skin It Back
6. Voices On The Wind
7. Cajun Girl
8. Night On The Town
9. I'd Be Lyin
10. The Blues Don’t Tell It All
11. Old Folks Boogie
12. Oh Atlanta
13. Dixie Chicken
14. Tripe Face Boogie
15. Fatman In The Bathtub
16. Let It Roll
17. Willin’
18. Feets Don’t Fail Me Now
19. Time Loves A Hero (redo)

© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Posted By: Keith Hannaleck
Genre: Rock-Blues-Pop
Record Label: Eagle Vision

RankFlex Score

Copyright © 2000-2018, Privacy Statement,