- Your Music Directory


<< Back

  Home > Reviews > B

 Bobby Fuller Drive - Breakin Rocks

Bobby Fuller Drive - Breakin Rocks Those of you that yearn for days gone by and the simple rock ‘n’ roll of Elvis and Buddy Holly (“Not Fade Away”) will love this new CD by the Bobby Fuller Drive (remember the Bobby Fuller Four?) Breakin Rocks.

Upon first listen I thought…“Gee these guys sound so old,” well they are and so is the style of music, but that really is not a factor. Those thoughts and perceptions came and went very quickly. I listened some more and before I knew it I was tapping my feet and singing as if I was transported back to those good old days.

Get ready for some rollicking and bluesy rock guitar lines and from-the-gut vocals on fourteen great tracks. My personal favorite is “Never To Be Forgotten.” If I were an A & R man working this music, that song would be the first single.

There's six original Bobby and Randy Fuller songs and a lost and forgotten dusted-off-from-the-vaults recording (1964) by Bobby Fuller called “Nancy Jean,” which is a real treasure as it is now recorded with Bobby Fuller Drive and brother Randy's voice added.

Its plain and simple folks just like the music; this is darn good stuff that holds up to ANYTHING recorded these days, enough said. This is a brilliantly uncomplicated recording with a lot of love and care in every track, and that is what it is all about for this music fan.

1. It Happened In El Paso -2:35
2. Not Fade Away – 2:34
3. Only When I Dream – 2:05
4. It's Too Late – 2:21
5. Let Her Dance – 3:18
6. I Fought The Law – 2:31
7. It Doesn't Matter Any More – 2:51
8. New Shade of Blue – 3:04
9. Another Sad and Lonely Night – 3:27
10. The Lobby – 5:09
11. Nancy Jean – 2:19
12. Nervous Breakdown – 3:07
13. High Desert Skies – 3:55
14. Never To Be Forgotten – 2:57

© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Posted By: Keith Hannaleck
Genre: Rock-Pop
Record Label: Independent

RankFlex Score

Copyright © 2000-2018, Privacy Statement,