- Your Music Directory


<< Back

  Home > Reviews > L

 Los Lobos - Wolf Tracks: The Best of Los Lobos

Los Lobos - Wolf Tracks: The Best of Los Lobos Los Lobos is an American institution, whether you realize that or not is another matter. They are not rock superstars although they are one of the greatest ethnic rock units on the planet and have received rave reviews since their debut in 1983. They are still under the radar comparatively speaking when you compare them to other major acts. I have always appreciated this great band but it is a shame that most people know them from their hits “La Bamba” and “Come On, Let’s Go.” There is so much more to this band than a few hit singles. Their body of work is vast and quite impressive. The eclectic music that is contained in their albums is enough to fill a lifetime for most performers. Los Lobos span the roots of everything that is music past and present-from blues, rock, Latino, world and more. This wolf knows how to survive. My personal favorite album is Kiko, which is an underrated classic in my estimation.

Wolf Tracks: The Best of Los Lobos is the first single CD that gathers the best of Los Lobos on one CD. They lost some of the steam they had in the 80’s going into the 90s but I think they are making their way back into a new listener’s realm and their devoted followers, like yours truly, remain steadfast and true. I think of Dave Alvin and the Blasters at times when I hear their earlier work and when they cut loose with one their traditional Mexican tunes I can say that my interest and love for their sound never sways, in fact their uniqueness and perspective remain as fresh and invigorating as it always has for this listener. The 20 tracks on this CD effectively sum up their career, for one CD that is. The previously unreleased “Border Town Girl” makes it debut to sweeten the pie.

Yes Los Angeles is proud of their native sons, may they continue to bring joy to the masses through their wonderful music that has the ability to touch hearts around the globe. There are not many bands that can play music like Los Lobos and maintain a following and acceptance like the one they have. If you are a long time fan or need a good place to start, this CD would be a good choice. Any way you look at it you cannot loose with music that has no boundaries, its all hear on this CD for your discovery or rediscovery, whatever the case may be. Viva! Los Lobos!

01. Let's Say Goodnight (2:35)
02. Anselma (3:10)
03. Don't Worry Baby (2:47)
04. A Matter of Time (3:49)
05. Corrido #1 (2:40)
06. Evangeline (2:43)
07. Will the Wolf Survive? (3:43)
08. One Time One Night (4:48)
09. Shakin' Shakin' Shakes (4:12)
10. Set Me Free (3:39)
11. Come On, Let's Go (2:11)
12. La Bamba (2:55)
13. Volver, Volver (3:47)
14. La Pistola y el Corazón (3:30)
15. Jenny's Got a Pony (4:04)
16. That Train Don't Stop Here (3:52)
17. Kiko and the Lavender Moon (3:37)
18. Oh Yeah (3:48)
19. Good Morning Aztlán (4:09)
20. Border Town Girl (2:56) * Previously Unissued

© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Posted By: Keith Hannaleck
Genre: Rock-Americana-Roots
Record Label: Rhino

RankFlex Score

Copyright © 2000-2018, Privacy Statement,