- Your Music Directory


<< Back

  Home > Reviews > Y

 Neil Young & Crazyhorse - Rust Never Sleeps

Neil Young & Crazyhorse - Rust Never Sleeps Much has been said about Neil Young’s Rust Never Sleeps recordings, and over time it has proven to be one of his very best works. This DVD, filmed at the Cow Palace in San Francisco on October 22, 1978, is not that particular album but rather a glimpse of an entire solo career (at that time) choreographed and performed by the artist onstage. The underlying ‘Rust’ theme is present with performances of the anthems “My My Hey Hey (Out of the Blue),” which is acoustic, and the electric “Hey Hey My My (Into the Black).”

While Young has never been a great vocalist, he is unique. My personal preference is the electric Young, I feel he has a more focused and determined energy in this mode, however he is extremely talented when he plays the acoustic guitar and harmonica. He is definitely the kind of artist that you really like or you flat out do not, there are no grey areas.

The show is directed by Bernard Shakey (AKA Neil Young), which in and of itself speaks highly of this man’s all around talent. At first, I thought the presentation was odd but as time passed, I realized it was just different and original, I could understand his concept more as time passed. The first part of the show is the acoustic set. “Sugar Mountain” and “Comes a Time” are especially good. Neil has microphones placed on each side of his harmonica and you can hear him walking around onstage and every other little noise coming from the stage, this is purposeful and it helps to bring it on home up close and personal to the listener. The “Road Eyes,” the little hooded people with the red glowing eyes, are always milling about doing different things, their presence is consistent throughout the show, and even an occasional dance across the stage is part of the act.

The electric set is jam packed with the grungy and dark guitar work that typified most of his solo flight. My favorites have always been “Cinnamon Girl” and “Like a Hurricane.” This is the prototypical post CSNY Neil Young, playing guitar like a man possessed. This DVD serves as a fine documentation of his musical and theatrical brilliance.

1. Introduction:
2. Star Spangled Banner/A Day in the Life (underscore)
3. Sugar Mountain
4. I Am a Child
5. Comes a Time
6. After the Gold Rush
7. Thrasher
8. My My Hey Hey (Out of the Blue)
9. When You Dance I Can Really Love
10. The Loner
11. Welfare Mothers
12. The Needle and the Damage Done
13. Lotta Love
14. Sedan Delivery
15. Powderfinger
16. Cortez the Killer
17. Cinnamon Girl
18. Like a Hurricane
19. Hey Hey My My (Into the Black)
20. End credits: School Days (underscore)
21. Tonight's the Night
Bonus Features
• Photo Gallery
• Lyrics
• Script
• Road Eye Slides

© Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Posted By: Keith Hannaleck
Genre: Rock/AOR, Folk, Hard, Country, Grunge
Record Label: Sanctuary Records

RankFlex Score

Copyright © 2000-2018, Privacy Statement,